Copa Libertadores de Futsal is almost here!

The biggest continental tournament in South America, Copa Libertadores de Futsal, is approaching fast. Here is a small recap of the things we know so far, including the teams participating in this year's event.

Copa Libertadores de Futsal will take place in the Uruguayan capital of Montevideo from 1 May to 8 May.

12 teams will participate in the event. The tournament is divided into two phases: preliminary and final phase.

The preliminary round consists of three groups of four teams each. The best two teams from each group, including the two best third-placed teams, will proceed to the quarter-finals.

Teams participating in this year's event are:

  • San Lorenzo (ARG)
  • Peñarol (URU)
  • Nacional (URU)
  • Univ. De Chile (CHI)
  • Universitario (PER)
  • Cerro Porteño (PAR)
  • Delta Te Quiero (VEN)
  • Alianza Platanera (COL)
  • Carlos Barbosa (BRA)
  • Corinthians (BRA)
  • Sportiva Bocca (ECU)
  • Proyecto Latín (BOL)
Every nation is represented with one team, except for the host (Uruguay) and winner of the recent tournament (Brazil). The current champion of the Copa Libertadores de Futsal is Brazilian team Carlos Barbosa, whose last triumph was a record-breaking seventh time. The only time the champion was a team outside Brazil was in 2016 when Paraguayan Cerro Porteño won the tournament in Asunción.